Research Committee


  • To advance all aspects of research in the Department of Medical Imaging.


  • To provide direction and guidance on all research-related aspects in the Department of Medical Imaging, including research strategy, short-term and long-term research goals, collaborative research grants, and research awards.
  • To champion the process of fostering and augmenting research in the Department of Medical Imaging.
  • To review and provide input for all documents of the Department of Medical Imaging that pertain to research.
  • To organize and facilitate research-related events, including the Resident Research Day and Research Symposia.
  • To select candidates for research awards and grants.
  • To assist in the Continuing Faculty Appointment Reviews as needed.
  • To represent the Research Committee in other Committees and departmental endeavors as needed.
  • To facilitate outreach to other Departments in the University of Toronto and to local, national and international research endeavors and consortia

Medical Imaging Research Committee - Terms of Reference (.pdf)



Research Committee

Name Role  Division
Michael Patlas Chair, UT Medical Imaging Emergency
Kate Hanneman Vice Chair, Research & JDMI Representative Cardiothoracic Imaging
Alex Bilbily Sunnybrook Representative Nuclear Medicine
Ben Fine Trillium Health Partners Representative  General Radiology
Vivianne Freitas JDMI Representative Breast Imaging
Pejman Maralani Sunnybrook Representative Neuroradiology
Sebastian Mafeld JDMI Representative Vascular Interventional Radiology
Farzad Khalvati AI Chair, The Hospital for Sick Children  
Errol Colak AI Chair, St. Michael Hospital/Unity Health  
Xiaoyang Liu JDMI Representative Abdominal Imaging
Govind Chavhan The Hospital For Sick Children Representative  Pediatric Imaging 
Karl Navarcan  Resident Representative