Excellence in Research Award

The Excellence in Research Award replaces the Faculty Research Award. 

The Excellence in Research Award is presented to a senior faculty member who has demonstrated sustained excellence in research with a significant scholarly impact at national and/or international level. This award will focus on significant research projects in the last five years. 

This award will be presented annually to one recipient. If there are no nominations by the deadline or the candidates do not meet the standard of excellence required for this award, it will not be given that year.

The award recipient will be notified directly and receive a framed certificate. 

Criteria and Nomination Process
The recipient of this award must have a full-time, primary appointment in the Department of Medical Imaging at the University of Toronto; preference will be given to those at the rank of Associate or Professor. Faculty are only eligible to receive this award after 10 years from their initial appointment date. In rare occasions, a faculty member may receive this award more than once; however, 10 years must pass before they can be considered. 

The recipient of this award must be nominated by at least one full-time faculty member in the Department of Medical Imaging. After the nomination period has closed, eligible candidates will be requested to provide: 

  • List of 5 most impactful/significant publications over the past 5 years
  • Up-to-date CV
  • Brief statement highlighting research accomplishments to date (250 words)

Selection Process
This award will be adjudicated by a committee chaired by a designated faculty member of the Department of Medical Imaging.

When selecting the recipient, the following criteria will be used to evaluate the candidate's research potential:  

  • novelty, originality, and new concepts in research work;
  • advancement of knowledge; impact of research on clinical practice; strong publication record;
  • peer-reviewed grants; national or international recognition as supported by awards, participation in national or international research networks, invited lectures, editorial boards.

H index and total number of citations may also be considered.

Previous Recipients

Name  Hospital  Year
Birgit Ertl-Wagner The Hospital for Sick Children 2023
Sangeet Ghai JDMI 2022
Elysa Widjaja The Hospital for Sick Children 2021
Mostafa Atri JDMI 2020
Masoom Haider JDMI 2019
Susan Blaser The Hospital for Sick Children 2018
Richard Aviv Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre 2017
Andrea Doria The Hospital for Sick Children 2016
David Mikulis JDMI 2015