Excellence in Clinical Practice Improvement Award

The Excellence in Clinical Practice Improvement Award recognizes outstanding leadership or academic contributions that aim to improve the quality of healthcare. Examples might include: efforts to improve the degree to which patients receive proven aspects of care (e.g. increasing guideline concordant care), reducing harms to patients from medical care (patient safety), as well as innovations in health services delivery — implementation of existing models or development of new models of care that improve outcomes, the patient experience or healthcare value.

This award will be presented annually to one recipient. If there are no nominations by the deadline or the candidates do not meet the standard of excellence required for this award, it will not be given that year. 

The award recipient will be notified directly and receive a framed certificate. 

Criteria and Nomination Process
The recipient of this award must have a primary appointment in the Department of Medical Imaging at the University of Toronto; self-nominations are not permitted.  Past recipients are eligible to be considered for this award every five years.

The recipient of this award must be nominated by at least one full-time faculty member in the Department of Medical Imaging. After the nomination period has closed, eligible candidates, will be requested to provide: 

  • Brief statement highlighting 1-2 clinical practice improvements projects they feel have made an impact to the quality of healthcare (250 words)
  • Up-to-date CV

Nominees who do not submit the above will not be considered for this award.

Previous Recipients

Name  Hospital Year
Shobhit Mathur St. Michael's Hospital 2023
Satheesh Krishna Jeyaraj JDMI 2022