

Research Committee Terms of Reference

1.0 Role

To advance all aspects of research in the Department of Medical Imaging.

2.0 Responsibilities

To provide direction and guidance on all research-related aspects in the Department of Medical Imaging, including research strategy, short-term and long-term research goals, collaborative research grants, and research awards.

To champion the process of fostering and augmenting research in the Department of Medical Imaging.

To review and provide input for all documents of the Department of Medical Imaging that pertain to research.

To organize and facilitate research-related events, including the Resident Research Day and Research Symposia.

To select candidates for research awards and grants.

To assist in the Continuing Faculty Appointment Reviews as needed.

To represent the Research Committee in other Committees and departmental endeavors as needed.

To facilitate outreach to other Departments in the University of Toronto and to local, national and international research endeavors and consortia.

3.0 Membership

The Research committee membership will be comprised of Department of Medical Imaging faculty and postgraduate learners. The committee will have broad representation from the TASHN hospitals. Current membership includes:

- Birgit Ertl Wagner The Hospital for Sick Children Department Vice Chair, Research (Committee Chair)
- Alan Moody Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre Department Chair
- Angela Atinga Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre MSK
- Alex Bilbily Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre Nuclear
- Vivianne Freitas JDMI Breast Imaging
- Sangeet Ghai JDMI Abdominal and UHN Research
- Mary-Louise Greer Sickkids Pediatrics
- Kate Hanneman JDMI Cardiothoracic

- Pejman Maralani Neuroradiology Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
- Sebastian Mafeld JDMI VIR
- Naomi Matsuura University of Toronto Catapult
- Chris McIntosh JDMI Al Chair
- Farzad Khalvati The Hospital for Sick Children Al Chair
- Masoom Haider JDMI Chair in Artificial Intelligence, Imaging Biomarkers and Radiomics
- Errol Colak St. Michaels Hospital Chair in Medical Imaging, AI
- Pascal Tyrrell University of Toronto MiData
- Blair Warren University of Toronto DR Resident

Non-Voting Members:

• Gary Cronin – University of Toronto – Communications and Strategic Planning Officer

4.0 Meetings

The Research Committee will meet once a month to once every other month. The meetings may be inperson, by teleconference or electronically, e.g., Zoom.

If a member is not able to participate in a meeting, that member can speak to the Chair in advance so that the Chair can share the member's perspective at the meeting. That member may also submit written comments or documentation in advance of the meeting.

Submissions required for a meeting that are made after said meeting will not be considered for decisionmaking.

5.0 Term

Term is three years, renewable.

6.0 Chair

The Vice Chair, Research will chair the Research Committee. The Chair shall:

- Call meetings of the committee.
- Chair meetings of the committee.
- Designate another member who is a committee member to chair the committee in the Chair's absence.
- Report to the Department Chair on the work of the committee.

7.0 Quorum

Quorum shall be simple majority (50%+1) of the voting committee members present at a meeting.

8.0 Minutes

The minutes will be taken at the committee meetings and then will distributed to members for review prior to the subsequent meetings and approved by the committee during that meeting. Minutes will be kept and stored in accordance with the organization's practice.

9.0 Guests

The Chair may invite guests to attend meetings as a resource as required.

10.0 Accountability

The Research Committee will be accountable to the Chair of the Department through the Chair of the committee.